meal planning

in an attempt to control what i eat and what to buy at the store while at the same time trying to learn a valuable life skill, i am trying meal planning. again. i tried it before, last year, but with disastrous results. we could never keep on schedule, on a certain day we wanted something else that wasn’t planned, or was simply too tired or lazy to make anything. so this year i’m trying it again, doing it for the month, and i’m going to be strict about it. i started on it this morning, did this week so far, but will need to get input from dh before continuing on (if he wants to cook anything himself for example). i’m also planning out lunch & breakfast for me.

so for this week:

monday: shrimp tacos

tuesday-thursday: slow-cooker spiced leg of lamb w/potatoes & carrots

friday: veggie burger

saturday: salmon for dh; chicken for me.

does anyone have advice on how to meal plan? would love to try what works & what doesn’t.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jess
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 08:59:42

    Pick a day to do your grocery shopping and go that day. We
    make a grocery list with the meals we want to eat that week and
    only buy what’s on the list. As for meal-planning, I don’t go day
    by day but knowing what I have decided to have for the week I
    decide then. Sometimes I’ll ask one of the other ones around here
    what they are in the mood for from the list of foods. I often like
    to cook meals that gives us leftovers early in the week so that we
    can have a meal or two in between if we want and yes, we use the
    leftovers as part of our weekly plan (i.e. making both spaghetti
    and tuna casserole in one week is at least four days worth of food
    so we’ll think of three other meals for the week along with those
    two). We tend to slack off more on the weekends when Grant doesn’t
    work cause the car is here and I hate cooking so any time I can get
    out of it…lol

    Reply

  2. ummsqueakster
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 09:55:25

    One thing that I’ve found very helpful is that I make large batches of 3 or 4 dishes on the weekend, and then serve those throughout the week. One thing that used to get me was that I was just too tired to cook during the week, so I resorted to eating cr@p. But, now if I open my fridge and see soup, stew, veggie burgers, and a bunch of fruits and vegetables staring back at me, I really don’t have any choice but to eat healthy.

    My meal planning this week was making the following:

    *whole wheat chaptis
    *a vegetable and baby lima bean stew
    *a lentil and vegetable soup
    *sesame glazed brussel sprouts, carrots, and green beans
    *ground chicken with a homemade ketchup and mustard sauce, which will be eaten in a whole wheat pita stuffed with lots of vegetables.
    *a pot of ful for AbuS
    *some corn grits porridge, that can be eaten sweet( with honey or maple syrup) or savory (with vegetables), for breakfasts.

    With that, plus a few cans of tuna, we’re set to eat just about every meal. But then, I have a husband who doesn’t care if he eats the same thing 5 days in a row, so it’s easy to make everything up front for him.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

dropping a few pounds

walk walk walk walk

